Berrylicious Tostadas

Posted on Updated on

Berrylicious Tostadas

I have a fantastic treat for you guys today. I’m sharing one of my all-time favorite desserts with you, and it’s a perfect way to ring in the summer season. I’ve had friends request I make it when coming over for dinner, and almost every time I visit my parents my mom drops not-so subtle hints that she has ingredients for it. Fine, mom, I’ll make it for you.

The original inspiration for this recipe came from a Mexican cookbook that my sister bought at Goodwill. We found a recipe inside for fruit tostadas and knew we had to try them. That recipe, however, used cream cheese and heavy cream in the filling. While delicious, it wasn’t necessarily a dessert my waistline would enjoy. Also, those are ingredients I typically don’t have readily available in my refrigerator. Baking tortillas

So how did I health-ify it? Greek yogurt of course! I almost always have some in my fridge, so really the only thing I have to make sure I have on hand are tortillas. I kept the cinnamon-sugar tortilla shell and the chocolate drizzle, but using either plain or vanilla flavored Greek yogurt lightened up the recipe without sacrificing taste or the decadent feeling you get from eating it. Keep in mind that the vanilla Greek yogurt has more sugar than the plain and will taste sweeter, but both are wonderful.

baked shells

Do I even need to mention the health benefits of berries? Often touted as a superfood, berries are full of vitamins, minerals, fiber, and antioxidants. I don’t necessarily like the term “superfood” because there is no one food that will work miracles. Rather it is a combination of a healthy, varied diet and exercise that has proven time and time again to have the greatest effect on one’s health. Berries definitely pack a nutritional punch, as does the yogurt and whole grains also in this dessert. And the dark chocolate? Well I believe in feeding the soul, and a little chocolate here and there makes my soul happy.

Berrylicious Tostadas Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 4 whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups plain or vanilla-flavored fat-free Greek yogurt, divided among 4 shells
  • 2 cups mixed berries, divided among 4 shells
  • 2 Tbsp dark chocolate chips, melted

Directions

Preheat oven to 350⁰. Using a brush or your fingers, evenly spread a thin layer of the melted butter on each tortilla. Mix the sugar and cinnamon together and then sprinkle it across the surface of the 4 tortillas (you may have some leftover). Using oven-safe bowls, place each tortilla in a bowl to form a cone shape. Bake tortillas for 15-20 minutes or until browned.

Let the tortillas cool (speed this up by placing them in the refrigerator). Spoon the yogurt into each tortilla shell and place in the freezer for 30-60 minutes. You don’t want to leave them in too long as the yogurt will harden too much (I found this out the hard way).

When ready, remove the shells from the freezer, add the berries, and drizzle with melted chocolate.

Nutrition Facts

  • 274 calories
  • 17 g protein
  • 43 g carbohydrate
  • 6 g fiber
  • 5 g fat
  • 230 mg sodium
2 thoughts on “Berrylicious Tostadas

    Cassie Kerr said:
    May 29, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Speaking from experience, I would give this an A+ because of this bomb dot com dessert you’ve made for me before, BUT the lack of a Hugo picture brings it down to an A 🙂

    Kristin said:
    May 29, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    I agree with Cassie, where was my little chocolate covered strawberry!

Leave a Reply

