Mini Greek Yogurt Cheesecakes

Posted on Updated on

DSC_6191

Guys, this is a safe place, and in safe places, we can confess things we are not proud of. With that being said, I have a confession. Sometimes I turn into Cookie Monster. This past Saturday I was grumpy when I got home from work (thank you, Chicago traffic), and because I had been traveling the week before and had no food in my apartment, I decided to walk down to a pizza place to get something to go. Next to the register was a case of chocolate chip cookies whispering, “buy me… buy me.” Who am I to refuse a cookie?? What I didn’t realize when I bought the cookie was that there were 2 wrapped together. When I got home, I told myself I would eat one and save the other, but is that what happened? No, no it is not. I ate both, only regretting it after the last morsel disappeared.

DSC_6055

I would have been happy with just one cookie, craving satisfied, but my willpower faltered when it came to that second cookie. Sometimes avoidance is the best policy. Certain foods, especially chips, crackers, and cookies are addicting, and if you keep them out of your home, you don’t have to worry about exercising restraint.

DSC_6066

Okay, Courtney, that’s all well and good, but what about when that sweet tooth won’t shut up? You are in luck today because I have an answer: CHEESECAKE! And not just cheesecake, but MINI cheesecake. I rarely bake because I don’t want an entire cake tempting me, so when something can be made as an individual serving, I’m a fan. The ingredients are for 4 individual servings, so it could be made for a small dinner with friends, or you could make one serving and then refrigerate or freeze the rest until you’re ready to make another (I wouldn’t keep it in the fridge much more than a week). Using Greek yogurt really lightens up the cheesecake without sacrificing flavor or richness. I made homemade strawberry compote to swirl into the cheesecake, but in a pinch you could use strawberry jam instead.

DSC_6125

At the end of my recipes you’ll find nutrition facts. Cheesecake is not typically a “healthy” dessert, but for the sake of comparison, I looked up The Cheesecake Factory’s Fresh Strawberry Cheesecake. One piece has a whopping 730 calories, 29 g saturated fat, and 430 g sodium. While fruit is always a good dessert option, sometimes a girl’s gotta have some cake, and in those situations, this mini cheesecake is much better that anything you would buy. And it’s just so cute!

DSC_6205

Ingredients (4 servings)

  • Crust
    • 4 graham crackers
    • 2 Tbsp butter, melted
  • Filling
    • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
    • ¼ cup honey
    • 1 eggDSC_6142
    • ½ tsp vanilla
    • ½ Tbsp cornstarch
  • Strawberry Compote
    • 2 cup strawberries
    • 1 tsp sugar
    • Juice of ½ lemon

Directions

Preheat oven to 375⁰

Crust:  You can make 4 crusts at once or each one on a separate occasion. Place graham crackers (1 per cake) in small blender or food processor; pulse until a coarse powder is formed. Melt butter (1/2 Tbsp per cake) in 7 oz ramekin. Add graham cracker crumbs to butter and mix with your fingers, pressing into the dish. Bake for 6-7 minutes.

Filling:  Place all ingredients in blender and blend until well-mixed. You may have to stop and scrape the sides a few times since the honey is sticky. When the crust has cooled slightly, pour ¼ of filling into each ramekin. If you are making one serving at a time, you can store the remaining in the refrigerator for a few days or freeze it.DSC_6180

Compote:  Add strawberries, sugar, and lemon juice to a saucepan and heat over medium heat. Use a potato masher to smash the strawberries. Simmer mixture until it starts to thicken, ~15-20 minutes. Spoon a small amount (1 Tbsp) into the ramekin and use a toothpick to swirl it in with the filling. You will likely have compote leftover, and it’s a great topping for pancakes, toast, or ice cream.

Bake cheesecake 35-40 minutes. It will start to separate from the sides of the dish and turn a golden color. Chill for 2 hours, top with fresh strawberries, and enjoy!

Nutrition Facts 

  • 262 calories
  • 35 g carbohydrate
  • 8 g protein
  • 10 g fat
  • 5 g saturated fat
  • 130 mg sodium
Hugo is addicted to donuts
Hugo is addicted to donuts
6 thoughts on “Mini Greek Yogurt Cheesecakes

    Cindy pigatto said:
    April 3, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    I am going to try this! Sounds yummy and how could a TBS of whip cream not help!

      Courtney Reynolds responded:
      April 3, 2014 at 2:01 pm

      A dollop of whip cream and some strawberries would be delicious!

    Kristin said:
    April 3, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Omg! I can’t wait to make these! They look awesome! And I’m pretty sure Hugo is addicted to all food. Great post!

      Courtney Reynolds responded:
      April 3, 2014 at 2:18 pm

      He’s called “hog dog” for a reason. But seriously, you should make these, they’re soooo good!

    Allison Pigatto said:
    April 3, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    can i use a flavored yogurt instead of the compote?

      Courtney Reynolds responded:
      April 3, 2014 at 4:43 pm

      As long as the filling itself is Greek yogurt (because it’s thicker than regular yogurt), I think swirling in some flavored yogurt would work ok. Try it and let me know!

Leave a Reply

