Spotlight on Spices: Coriander

Posted on Updated on

I hope everyone is ready for some spicy and flavorful posts! My goal is to provide some helpful insight on how to use all those spices sitting around in your cupboard. And, if my rhyming abilities allow, you may get a catchy poem each time, too.

Today we will focus on the bright and fresh plant, Coriandrum sativum, aka coriander. We know the green stem and leaves as cilantro, but when the plant grows and matures, it produces seeds. The coriander spice in our cupboards is the ground up version of the plant’s seeds.

coriander_16x9

Though some people identify the herb as being somewhat bitter, the delicate leaves and seeds of the plant have a citrusy note that go quite well in a multitude of dishes. I encourage you to explore the recipes found below in my nutrition rendition of Dr. Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham!

Do you like this coriander?

I do not like it, RD Kerr.

Would you eat it here or there?

Would you eat it in soup with pear?

I would not eat it here or there.

I would not eat it in soup with pear.

Say!

Would you, could you in chimichurri?

Or maybe in a spicy curry?

I would not, could not in chimichurri.

And definitely not in a curry!

Would you, could you in a quiche?

In fish tacos on the beach?

Not in a quiche.

Not on the beach.

I do not like this coriander!

I do not like it, RD Kerr!

You do not like it.

SO you say.

Try it! Try it!

And you may.

Try it and you may I say.

RD Kerr!

If you let me be,

I will try it.

You will see.

.green-eggs-and-ham-happy-sam-2

Say!

I like this coriander!

I do!! I like it, RD Kerr!

And I would eat it in chimichurri.

And I would eat it in a curry.

I would eat it in a quiche

And in fish tacos on the beach.

It is so goodm so goodm you see!

So I will eat them here or there.

Say! I will eat them ANYWHERE!

I do so like this coriander!

Thank you! Thank you, RD Kerr!

Leave a Reply

